WhatsApp drew intense backlash earlier this 12 months after updating its privateness coverage which talks about sharing information with Facebook, primarily asking customers to just accept them and hold utilizing the service, or threat shedding their account by rejecting the modifications. After widespread criticism and debates over privateness considerations, the corporate pushed the implementation of its new coverage to May 15, and ever since, has been attempting to teach and persuade customers in regards to the modifications. Now, WhatsApp has defined what occurs to your account for those who don’t settle for the up to date privateness insurance policies after the May 15 deadline.
If you don’t hit the ‘Accept’ button in time…

You will not be capable of ship messages or learn the incoming texts

If you don’t settle for the brand new privateness insurance policies after May 15, you’ll lose some key performance. Which ones precisely? “For a short while, you’ll be capable of obtain calls and notifications, however received’t be capable of learn or ship messages from the app,” says the corporate on a brand new FAQ web page titled What occurs on the efficient date?
You’ll lose key capabilities & threat account deletion
As for the ‘brief time’ in WhatsApp’s ominous announcement, it’ll final just a few weeks (by way of TechCrunch). WhatsApp has reportedly began sending a communique detailing the aforementioned modifications to its service provider companions, that are apparently enterprise accounts that use the platform for commerce and pay a price in alternate to the Facebook-owned firm.
What are your choices?
So, you’re now left with two choices:
You give in and settle for the brand new privateness insurance policies. Download your chat historical past and delete your WhatsApp account.

You will nonetheless be capable of settle for the coverage change after May 15 deadline

Now, WhatsApp says that you’ll nonetheless be capable of settle for its new privateness insurance policies after May 15 and get again to utilizing the app with full performance. However, as soon as the deadline hits and also you haven’t hit the ‘ACCEPT’ button, your account will probably be categorised as inactive. And inactive accounts are robotically deleted after 120 days. Here’s what WhatsApp classifies as inactivity on its official FAQ web page:
An web connection is required for an account to be lively. If a consumer has WhatsApp open on their gadget, however they don’t have an web connection, then the account will probably be inactive.So, you primarily have 120 days to suppose and settle for (or reject) WhatsApp’s up to date privateness insurance policies. However, every day after May 15, you’ll have to reside with restricted performance (learn: Not with the ability to ship or learn messages) for those who haven’t accepted the brand new guidelines.
What for those who delete your WhatsApp account?
Or, you may obtain your chat historical past and say goodbye to WhatsApp. However, the corporate says that for those who delete your account, you’ll be kicked out from all teams, and all of your chat historical past and backups will probably be completely deleted. “It is one thing we can’t reverse,” WhatsApp says.
Alternatively, you may migrate your WhatsApp information to Telegram that the latter gives. You can transfer your WhatsApp chat – together with media and paperwork – from private in addition to group chats with a brand new chat export function in Telegram.

Nadeem Sarwar

I’ve been writing about shopper expertise for over three years now, having labored with names akin to NDTV and Beebom up to now. Aside from protecting the most recent information, I’ve reviewed my fair proportion of gadgets starting from smartphones and laptops to good dwelling gadgets. I even have interviewed tech execs and appeared as a bunch in YouTube movies speaking in regards to the newest and best devices on the market.